Let's talk about CITIZEN SCIENCE

Conveying the scientific method is a central aspect of the Discover Ants Program.

I first learned about Citizen Science when I was at North Carolina State University. I quickly realized that Citizen Science is a powerful tool for science communication and environmental literacy.

Citizen Science is a direct access point to real science. Instead of just learning about science in a theoretical way, Instead of just learning about science in a theoretical way, Citizen Science allows everyone to become a scientist and, additionally, participants are contributing to a real science project.

Therefore, I created the Ant Picnic Cititzen Science project together with a wonderful team of fellow scientists and teachers. The experiment is implemented as part of Module 4 of the Discover Ants program and in Module 5 we’re working with the collected data.

Citizen Science

…is the public involvement in inquiry and discovery of new scientific knowledge. A citizen science project can involve one person or millions of people collaborating towards a common goal. Typically, a citizen science project is led by a scientist and citizen scientistsare involved in data collection, analysis, or formulating research questions. (definition adjusted from SciStarter.com)

With Discover Ants YOU become a Citizen Scientist.
Students Discover Team Ant: Paige Derouin, DeAnna Beasley, Magdalena Sorger, Michelle Hafey, Maggie Cates (von links)


As part of the Students Discoverproject, a large-scale collaboration between several American education facilities, teachers and scientists started working together to bring citizen science projects into the classroom.

This collaboration was a great success. In total, the Ant Picnic project was implemented by over 500 schools. A previous version of the program presented here has already been tested in six schools in North Carolina. The feedback has been very positive – teachers appreciated the collaboration, students enjoyed the content.

Discover Antsnow continues this effort and is starting to build a framework in order to bring citizen science projects into schools all over Austria.

More about citizen scienc ein Austria at citizen-science.at

It has helped me to see that really anyone can be a scientist – which is awesome!
I feel it has helped me be a more creative and engaging teacher. Students can be active and engaged in real science versus trying to connect through a textbook.
Citizen science is a powerful approach to teach science in the classroom.

The "Ant Picnic" Citizen Science Project:

Discover Ants is available
for these spaces:

Stichwort CITIZEN SCIENCE

Die Vermittlung der wissenschaftlichen Methode ist ein zentraler Aspekt des Discover Ants Programms.

Ich bin während meiner Zeit an der North Carolina State University in Amerika zum ersten Mal mit Citizen Science in Berührung gekommen und habe es in Folge als mächtiges Tool in der Vermittlung von wissenschaftlichem Denken und Naturverständnis entdeckt.

Citizen Science ermöglicht den aktiven Zugang zu Wissenschaft. Anstatt nur theoretisch darüber zu lernen, wird hier jeder zum „Wissenschaftler“ und leistet darüber hinaus einen Beitrag zu einem realen wissenschaftlichen Projekt. 

In diesem Sinne habe ich gemeinsam mit einem Team von WissenschaftlerInnen und Lehrerinnen das Ameisen-Picknick Citizen Science Projekt aufgebaut. Das Projekt wird in Modul 4, des Discover Ants Programms umgesetzt, mit den Daten beschäftigen wir uns in Modul 5!

Citizen Science

…bezeichnet die Einbindung bzw. selbstständige Forschungstätigkeit von Nicht-WissenschaftlerInnen bzw. AmateurInnen in einem wissenschaftlichen Projekt. Ein Citizen Science Projekt wird üblicherweise von einem Wissenschaftler betreut. Die Mithilfe der Citizen Scientists kann von Datensammlung bis hin zu Datenauswertung und Formulierung von Forschungsfragen etc. rangieren. 

Mit Discover Ants wirst DU zum Citizen Scientist!
Students Discover Team Ant: Paige Derouin, DeAnna Beasley, Magdalena Sorger, Michelle Hafey, Maggie Cates (von links)


Im Rahmen des Großprojekts Students Discover, einer Kooperation mehrerer amerikanischer Bildungsinstitutionen, wurde unter intensiver Zusammenarbeit von LehrerInnen und WissenschaftlerInnen begonnen Citizen Science Projekte in den Schulunterricht einzubinden.

Diese Kooperation war ein durchschlagender Erfolg. Insgesamt wurde das Ant Picnic Projekt von über 500 Bildungsinstitutionen selbstständig implementiert. Eine Vorversion des hier vorgestellten Konzeptes wurde bereits an sechs Schulen getestet. Das Feedback war sehr positiv – LehrerInnen begrüßten die Zusammenarbeit, SchülerInnen waren begeistert bei der Sache.

Discover Ants knüpft an diesen Erfolg an und schafft den Rahmen, um Citizen Science Projekte großflächig in österreichische Schulen zu bringen.

Mehr zu Citizen Science in Österreich auf citizen-science.at

Durch dieses Programm habe ich realisiert, dass tatsächlich JEDER wissenschaftlich arbeiten kann – auch meine SchülerInnen! Das find ich großartig!
Dieses Programm hat mir geholfen kreativer und ansprechender zu unterrichten. SchülerInnen sind aktiv in ein wissenschaftliches Projekt eingebunden anstatt nur in Lehrbüchern darüber zu lesen.
Citizen Science ist ein mächtiges und wertvolles Werkzeug im Biologie-Unterricht, wenn es um die Vermittlung der wissenschaftlichen Methode geht.

Das Citizen Science Experiment "Ameisen-Picknick":

Discover Ants gibt es
für diese Räume: